GREATER YOSEMITE COUNCIL Order of the Arrow



ORDER OF THE ARRON

Founder's Award Criteria

The Founders' Award was created in 1981 to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to the Lodge. The award is reserved for Arrowmen who demonstrate to fellow Arrowmen that they memorialize in their everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by the Order of the Arrow founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

The prestige of the award requires the criteria be general in nature to allow members of the Lodge to exercise wisdom, flexibility, and discretion in the evaluation and selection of a worthy recipient. Although any present member of the Order of the Arrow may be the recipient, a recipient **must** meet the following criteria:

- Vigil Honor member;
- Continued to render outstanding and dedicated service to the Order of the Arrow on a local and sectional, Council and/or District level since receiving the Vigil Honor; and
- Member of the Order of the Arrow preferably for a minimum of 5 years for youth and at least 12 years for adults.

The number of Founder's Awards that the Lodge may present annually is determined by the Lodge's total membership as stated on the most recent Lodge Charter Renewal form. If the Lodge presents more than one Founder's Award, at least one must be to a youth under the age of 21.

Given the nature and prestige of the award, it must be awarded only when the recipient(s) meet the Lodge's criteria. The award recipient should not be notified prior to the award ceremony.

The Award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson, with wooden base and brass plate suitable for engraving. Also available is a special Founder's Award arrow ribbon, with a gold colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.





GREATER YOSEMITE COUNCIL Order of the Arrow 4031 TECHNOLOGY DR, MODESTO, CA 95356 Brotherhood of Cheerful Service

TOLOMA LODGE



Founders' Award Recipients

Year

Vigil Name Interpretation

Yo-Se-Mite Lodge 278

Name

1984	Leon Prentis (D)	"Quiet One"
1991	C.W."Win" Quinley, Jr. (D)	"Historian"
1992	Ray Baltz (D)	"Teacher"
1993	Rod Mortensen, Jr. (D)	"Fast Talker"
1994	Martin "Marty" Watson	"Black Crow Dancer"
1996	Charles C. Chituras Jr.	"Helpful Elder Brother"
1997	Michael Harris	"Zealous Dancer"
1997	Charlie Johnson (D)	"Expert in Dance"
1998	Milt McEwen	"One Who Instructs"

Sumi Lodge 342

1990	Eric Johnson	"Busy One"
1990	Greg Steig	"Hard Worker"
1992	Kevin Simpson	"Quiet One"
1992	Dwight "Duke" Snyder	"Sure One"
1993	Ronald Hoehne	"Fast Talking Council Holder"
1993	Brad R. Owen	"Firm One Who Strengthens"
1994	Stathi I. Pappas	"Persevering One"
1994	Lee Martin	"Turkey Traveler"
1995	John Pappas	"Dances With Bears"
1996	Scott Nelson	"Bald Eagle"
1997	Jon Baker	"Badger Dancer"
1997	Brandon Olson	"Strong Good Natured One"
1998	Chad Baker	"Calm Minded Warrior"
1998	Harvey Webb	"Quiet One Who is Ready"

Toloma Lodge

1999	Stephen Pearson	"Red Haired One"
		Red Halled Olic
1999	Mae Stevenot (D)	"Mother to All"
2000	Garrett Amerine	"Big Forceful Friendly One"
2000	Bill Baker (D)	"Stubborn One Who Can Be Trusted"
2001	David Mallory	"Reliable Hard Worker"
2001	Ron Miller (D)	"Keeper of the Well"
2002	Josh Birmingham	"Dance Master"
2003	Eric Busby	"Wise Enthusiastic Camper"
2003	Dan Perdue	"Caring Gray Fox"
2004	Joshua Cramer	"Active Leader with Endurance"



GREATER YOSEMITE COUNCIL Order of the Arrow

4031 TECHNOLOGY DR, MODESTO, CA 95356 Brotherhood of Cheerful Service

TOLOMA LODGE



2004	Kris Baltz	"Big Whisper"
2005	Brian Crabtree	"Jocular Dancer"
2005	Thomas M Crist	"Adviser Who Travels Afar"
2011	G Bruce Olson	"Beaver Who Cooks"
2012	Kevin Huffman	"Active Quiet Eagle"
2012	James Doyle	"Weasel"
2013	Dylan J Law	"Loyal Beaver Brother"
2013	Kevin Lowery	"Worker Who is Humble"
2015	Dalton R. McCullough	"Independent Benevolent Warrior"
2015	Charles Carnahan	"Big Hearted"
2016	Kyle Silligman	"Quiet Chief Who Creates With Hands"
2016	Andrew Gonzales	"Quiet Helpful Brother"